Visit SushiSamba and Support Japan

If you’re in Las Vegas, Miami, Chicago or New York, I encourage you to stop by SushiSamba and support the relief efforts in Japan. The sushi chef in each location has created a special roll, with 100% of the proceeds going to the Red Cross to assist relief efforts in Japan.

The other day after work, I headed over to SushiSamba in the Palazzo to make my contribution. As soon as I sat down at the bar, I was greeted by the pleasant whiff from the fresh mint leaves the bar back was pulling from the stalk of mint in his hands. I was happy to find out I had caught Happy Hour and the $6 Mojitos and Caipirinhas. The guys next to me had ordered seviche, which looked good. I ordered the Yellowtail Seviche based on the bartenders recommendation, and the Chef Yuki’s Japan Disaster Relief Roll.

Chef Yuki’s Disaster Relief Roll is a tuna roll with eel, shiso leaf, kaiware, radish, and kaiso kira kira. The shiso leaf added a slight minty taste to the roll and the kaiware, the green sprouts sticking out of the roll, added a hint of peppery flavor. The plate is decorated in spicy sauce, which takes the heat of the roll up a notch.

Chef Yuki's Japan Disaster Relief Roll, Yellowtail Seviche, and Mojito

As much as I enjoyed the Yellowtail Seviche and Disaster Relief Roll, the pièce de résistance was dessert. Usually when I go to a sushi restaurant, I end my meal with a piece of mochi ice cream, which SushiSamba has and is made in house. But I don’t consider SushiSamba your traditional sushi restaurant, so I decided to switch it up. I opted for something with a little bit more of a Brazilian influence, so I ordered the Cassava Carrot Cake. It was so good that it was gone before I realized I hadn’t taken a picture of it. The carrot cake was moist and spongy. It’s served on a velvety bed of cinnamon cream and is topped with a scoop of brown butter ice cream that has a refreshing sweetness to it. The plate is drizzled with orange reduction that has a nice kick, almost like a liqueur. Each element tasted wonderful individually, but to be truly appreciated, each fork full should include a little bit of each.

The Disaster Relief campaign runs through the end of March. Each roll is $12 and each location has a different roll. You can also support relief efforts in Japan by donating directly to the Red Cross.

SushiSamba
$30-45/person
Inside the Shops at the Palazzo
3327 Las Vegas Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89109
Leave a Reply

