Hello Fast Food, We’re Estranged No Longer

About 5 years ago I swore off fast food, it was the day I rented Super Size Me to be exact. One of the special features on the DVD really grossed me out. It compared McDonald’s food, versus “real” hamburgers and french fries when left out to let nature take its course. I’ll spare you the gory details, but let’s just say the McDonald’s food went through some very unnatural changes, to say the least. That was all I needed to say goodbye to fast food, at least until I moved to Las Vegas.

On trips here in the past, I’d seen the blinking In-N-Out Burger lights from across the Strip, but I had sworn off fast food so I never even thought about trying one. That was until one of my friends from back East, who had moved out this way, convinced me that In-N-Out Burger was different from anything we had at home. So I broke my nearly 5-year renunciation of fast food and had my first In-N-Out Burger.

The first day I entered In-N-Out Burger, I was shocked that there weren’t any heat lamps or microwaves and someone was in the back actually cutting french fries from whole potatoes. And then I bit into my burger and fell even more in love with this place. The pickles were crunchy like in the pickle commercials, the lettuce was crisp and cool, the tomatoes juicy, the cheese gooey like real melted cheese should be, and the buns were plump and glistening like they were just pulled out of the oven. As much as I enjoyed my burger, I felt somewhat slighted that those on the western half of the country had kept this secret from the rest of us.

I still consider it fast food, but with “Quality you can taste”. I don’t think they could have picked a better slogan. I’ve even caught on to their “secret” menu now. That will be one burger, animal style with fries.

In-N-Out Burger

Various locations throughout the Valley

<$5/person

 In-N-Out Burger (West Side) on Urbanspoon

In-N-Out Burger on Foodio54

2 thoughts on “Hello Fast Food, We’re Estranged No Longer

Leave a Reply

